quarta-feira, 2 de dezembro de 2009

The Latin Sound of Lex Vandyke - Concierto de Aranjuez

  1. Concierto de Aranjuez
  2. Besame Mucho
  3. Manhã de Carnaval
  4. Amor, Amor, Amor
  5. Romance
  6. Recuerdos de la Alhambra
  7. Cavatina (Theme from "The Deer Hunter")
  8. Perfidia
  9. Maria Elena
  10. The Girl From Ipanema
  11. Vaya Con Dios
  12. Wave
  13. Nostalgia
  14. One Note Samba
  15. Malagueña
  16. La Paloma
  17. Prelude Nº 1
  18. La Comparsa
Concierto de Aranjuez
Internationally renowned guitarist Lex Vandyke turns his attention to Latin American music with this collection of well-known melodies. Playing favorites from the 'Great Latin Songbook' from "Besame Mucho", "Amor, Amor, Amor", "Perfidia", "Malagueña" and "La Comparsa" to the tunes of the bossa nova era including "Manha de Carnaval", "The Girl from Ipanema", "Wave" and "One Note Samba", Lex Vandyke endows each with the special blend of musicality and tenderness that makes his recordings so irresistible to listeners around the globe.

This album is entitled "Concierto de Aranjuez" after one of the masterworks of the Spanish composer Joaquin Rodrigo. The "Concierto de Aranjuez", a mature and astonishingly well-balanced composition, explored new fields of harmony and rhythm and opened up vistas in the use of the orchestra and the solo instrument. In the "Concierto de Aranjuez", the guitar, in spite of its distant sound, never becomes submerged in the orchestra, but asserts its individuality and even dialogues with it.

Along the way, Lex Vandyke also pays tribute to some of the best composers of popular music in the history of Latin American music, composers such as Ernesto Lecuona, Luiz Bonfá and Antonio Carlos Jobim. Lecuona is probably the most successful composer Cuba has produced, Bonfá and Jobim are among the most beloved Brazilian composers of the 20th century.

Bonfá is best known for "Manha de Carnaval" ("Morning of Carnival"), from the cinema classic "Black Orpheus" (original title, "Orfeu Negro", 1958). Film director Marcel Camus commissioned Luiz to write the score for "Black Orpheus", but originally rejected "Manha de Carnaval" as its theme. Bonfa complied with a second offering, but insisted the first was preferable. After heated disagreements, Camus relented and "Manha de Carnaval" has since become a classic, recorded in 37 different languages.

Jobim made the world aware of the lilting, langourous rhythms of Brazil with such songs as "The Girl from Ipanema" and "One Note Samba". These songs are representative of bossa nova, a music which has influenced countless musicians and listeners.

(From original liner notes)

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...