sexta-feira, 8 de julho de 2011

Joe Williams - A Man Ain't Supposed To Cry

  1. What's New
  2. It's The Talk Of The Town
  3. I'll Never Smile Again
  4. I'm Through With Love
  5. Where Are You
  6. I've Only Myself To Blame
  7. Say It Isn't So
  8. What Will I Tell My Heart
  9. You've Got Me Crying Again
  10. Can't We Talk It Over
  11. I Laugh To Keep From Cryin'
  12. A Man Ain't Supposed To Cry
During the mid-'50s, Joe Williams was one of the hottest properties in vocal jazz thanks to a big hit recorded with the Count Basie Orchestra ("Every Day I Have the Blues"). But when he moved from Verve to Roulette a few years later, he modified his version of the big-band blues for his first album with the label. Roulette owner Morris Levy was interested in crossover potential -- he had recently hit number one in 1957 with the folk-pop singer Jimmie Rodgers -- and he had Williams record an album of lush ballads with strings arranged by swing veteran Jimmy Mundy. (Vocal fans thinking of Frank Sinatra as arranged by Gordon Jenkins instead of Billy May will be well on their way to imagining the sound of A Man Ain't Supposed to Cry.) Although Williams, like Sinatra, was a fabulous swing vocalist, he was also an excellent balladeer with a rich vibrato and the confidence to let a straight reading speak for itself. Torch songs comprise most of the song list, and include "What's New?," "It's the Talk of the Town," "Where Are You," and Irving Berlin's "Say It Isn't So."  

(by John Bush from

Roulette 150211

Um comentário:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...