quarta-feira, 7 de novembro de 2012

Duke Ellington - Jazz Violin Session

  1. Take The A Train
  2. In A Sentimental Mood
  3. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  4. Day Dream
  5. Cotton Tail
  6. Pretty Little One
  7. Trickys Licks
  8. Blues in C
  9. String Along with Strings
  10. Limbo Jazz
  11. The Feeling of Jazz
Jazz Violin Session

Paul Gonsalves (Tenor Sax), Stephane Grappelli (Violin), Stephane Grappelli (Main Performer), Ray Nance (Violin), Svend Asmussen (Viola), Svend Asmussen (Main Performer), Russell Procope (Alto Sax), Buster Cooper (Trombone), Duke Ellington (Piano), Duke Ellington (Producer), Duke Ellington (Main Performer), Ernie Shepard (Bass), Billy Strayhorn (Piano), Sam Woodyard (Drums)

Recorded February, 22 1963 at Barclay Studios, Paris, France

This small group session was recorded in 1963 for Atlantic, and originally issued in 1976, two years after Duke Ellington's death. It showcases a small group that features string players in the front line. Ray Nance, the Duke's own violinist, is here as is the legendary Stephane Grappelli and violist Svend Asmussen. The rest of the players include tenor man Paul Gonsalves, drummer Sam Woodyard, bassist Ernie Shepard, alto saxist Russell Procope, and trombonist Buster Cooper. Ellington plays piano no all but two tunes where Billy Strayhorn replaced him. The program is a collection of Ellington and Strayhorn standards from "Blues in C" and "Take the 'A' Train," to "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," "Cotton Tail," and the wonderful "Limbo Jazz." The soloist and group interplay are gentle, swinging, and utterly and completely graceful and elegant. There is a lighthearted tenderness in this set that borders on sentimentality without ever going there. And the feeling is loose, relaxed, and full of warmth throughout. 

(By Thom Jurek from allmusic.com)


Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...