quinta-feira, 21 de fevereiro de 2013

Johnny Hartman - The Voice That Is!

  1. The More I See You
  2. A Slow Hot Wind
  3. Let Me Love You
  4. Funny World
  5. These Foolish Things
  6. My Ship
  7. Day the World Stopped Turning
  8. Joey, Joey, Joey
  9. Sunrise Sunset
  10. Waltz For Debbie
  11. It Never Entered My Mind
The Voice That Is

Ballad singer Johnny Hartman's third and final Impulse session is not quite on the same level as the first two. Although the earlier of the two sessions has several near-classic performances (including "My Ship," "Waltz for Debby," and "It Never Entered My Mind"), the second date has weaker material, primarily several songs from movies or shows, including "Sunrise, Sunset." Hartman is in fine form whether backed by the Hank Jones quartet or accompanied by an octet arranged by pianist Bob Hammer, but this set is not as essential as his earlier meetings with John Coltrane and Illinois Jacquet

(by Scott Yanow from allmusic.com)

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...