quinta-feira, 8 de agosto de 2013

Nat King Cole - Big Band Cole

  1. She's Funny That Way
  2. Anytime, Anyday, Anywhere
  3. I Want A Little Girl
  4. Mood Indigo
  5. The Blues Don't Care
  6. Avalon
  7. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  8. The Late Late Show
  9. Welcome to the Club
  10. Look Out for Love
  11. Wee Baby Blues
  12. Madrid
  13. Orange Colored Sky
  14. Jam-Bo
  15. Orange Colored Sky
  16. Steady
  17. My Love
Big Band Cole

# 1-12: Nat Cole accompanied by the Count Basie Band (1958);
# 13-17: Nat Cole accompanied by the Stan Kenton Band (1950/60/61) 

Nat King Cole's collaborations with the Count Basie Orchestra and the Stan Kenton Orchestra (all of which are included on this album) found him mostly sticking to singing but enjoying the jazz-oriented backgrounds. He first met up with Kenton in 1950, recording the memorable "Orange Colored Sky" and starring on piano during the instrumental "Jambo." They had a reunion in 1960-1961, cutting a remake of "Orange Colored Sky" and two more poppish songs. The matchup with Basie showcased Cole purely as a singer in 1958; Gerald Wiggins took Basie's place at the keyboards. One of Cole's better vocal sessions, he is in top form on a variety of standards (particularly on "The Late, Late Show" and "Welcome to the Club"); pity he did not sit in with the band on piano. This album is recommended for its rare examples of Nat King Cole as a big-band singer.  

(By Scott Yanow from allmusic.com)

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...