sexta-feira, 29 de novembro de 2013

Wynton Marsalis - Standards & Ballads

  1. When It's Sleepytime Down South
  2. Stardust
  3. Embraceable You
  4. Reflections
  5. After You've Gone
  6. The Seductress
  7. My Ideal
  8. Spring Yaounde
  9. Melancholia
  10. Where Or When
  11. I Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
  12. April In Paris
  13. I Can't Get Started
  14. Flamingo
Standards & Ballads

As a staunch jazz classicist and a vociferous champion of its traditions, Wynton Marsalis should seem right at home playing an album of jazz standards. And, in fact, he does. Marsalis is well suited to classic, acoustic sets, in part because of his clear, lyrical tone on the trumpet, but mostly because of his love for the music (Marsalis's aversion to avant garde, fusion, and other experimental takes on the genre is well known). 

The set list of STANDARDS has many of the usual suspects, including "April in Paris," "A Foggy Day," "Django," and "Caravan." It's clear Marsalis isn't out to radically re-invent these tunes, but rather to give them classic renderings, summoning the ghost of early, acoustic post-bop with an appealing sense of balance, beauty, and technical precision. 

(From the review of

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...