domingo, 8 de dezembro de 2013

Clark Terry & Frank Wess - Big Band Basie

  1. Jessica's Day
  2. Sixteen Men Swinging
  3. Flute Juice
  4. Jumpin' at the Woodside
  5. Moten Swing
  6. Shiny Stockings
  7. Ya Gotta Try
  8. Li'l Darlin'
  9. Swinging the Blues
  10. Until I Met You
  11. Li'l Ol' Groovemaker
  12. One O'clock Jump
  13. Winter Wonderland
  14. Swinging the Blues (alternate take)
Big Band Basie

Usually recordings by college stage bands are to be avoided by all but close relatives since the illusion of professionalism heard in the well-rehearsed ensembles is constantly punctured by amateurish solos. However this album features flugelhornist Clark Terry and Frank Wess (doubling on flute and tenor) on half of the selections and the orchestra (under the direction of Bob Lark) is fairly strong. The big band interprets a dozen songs from the Count Basie repertoire (plus "Winter Wonderland") with solid swing and good musicianship. Still, it is the numbers with Terry and Wess that are of greatest interest and the real reason to acquire this set.  

(By Scott Yanow by

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...