segunda-feira, 17 de novembro de 2014

Louis Armstrong - I Love Jazz (By requests)

  1. I'm Confessin' That I Love You
  2. Tiger Rag
  3. South Rampart Street Parade
  4. Jeepers Creepers
  5. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  6. I Love Jazz
  7. St. Louis Blues
  8. Ain't Misbehavin'
  9. Chinatown, My Chinatown
  10. On the Sunnyside of the Street
  11. Muskrat Ramble
  12. Royal Garden Blues
I Love Jazz

Born in 1900, on July 4th - American Independence Day - Louis Armstrong was the greatest Jazz Ambassador of all time. The sound of his trumpet and gravel-voice have reached into every corner of the world, carrying the jazz message to all. So much so that the nickname "Satchmo", even in the remotest part of the globe, stands for an unbelievably unique combination of man and music which has become the very foundation of American folklore - in or outside of jazz.

On this album, Louis is featured on tunes that have become standards, not only in his own repertoire, but also in many jazz collections. "When It's Sleepy Time Down South" is perhaps the most performed by Satchmo because, being his theme music, it precedes and concludes all of his performances. "Ain't Misbehavin'", written by another jazz notable, "Fats" Waller, has also been in the Armstrong book for years. So has "Tiger Rag", Handy's "St. Louis Blues" and all the other tracks on this record. Truly a great collection of vintage Armstrong that you will enjoy.

(From the original liner notes)

The Incredible Satchmo

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...